No post-holiday blues…

Returning home from holidays is something I’m not usually good at.

The foot-stamping and hair-flicking tantrums at which I excelled in my teens returns (albeit slightly toned down), and I am prone to bouts of ‘It’s not fair. Why can’t holidays last forever?’. Melodrama is a hard habit to kick.

Today I realised living so close to Fremantle has taken the edge off the returning home angst.

This afternoon we had a brief outing to Theobroma and the Freo Markets.

At Theobromoa the coffee and chocolate is always smooth.

IMG_9203 IMG_9898

IMG_9909 IMG_9920

IMG_9897 IMG_9255 cake3

The Freo Markets have fresh meats, fruit, vegetables & freshly made meals (from pies to paella, bhaji to bagels, haggis to hash browns), souvenirs, clothes, shoes, artwork, buskers…it always leaves me in a happy place.

IMG_9248 IMG_9283

IMG_9246

freo markets cropped

Freo is perfect antidote to the oh-that’s-right-the-holiday-is-over whining.

Our outing today was a well-timed reminder that some of my Most Favourite Places are just around the corner.

Leave a comment